The Little Snail

It was a weekend filled with food for me. First Tequila Mockingbird, and then to the Little Snail for a family birthday. The Little Snail is a French restaurant in Darling Harbour, which offers 3 course menus for a very reasonable price. At lunch times it is $42, which is pretty decent.

At first glance at the menu, it isn’t a super french place. Besides the snails on the menu, you could be forgiven for thinking it was just a generic restaurant. The food all looks delicious, but maybe not the authentic french experience you would expect.

I strayed from the pack, and ordered salt and pepper squid instead of escargots (snails). It wasn’t a fantastic meal for me, as I felt like I was eating squid that came from a frozen packet, but luckily those that ordered snails shared with me, and the garlicky escargots were delicious.

For the next meal I ordered the Chilli Prawn linguine. This meal made up for the lacklustre entree I had. It was very spicy and had a nice tomato base. The prawns were fresh and delicious. Those around me got seafood plates, vegetarian risotto and duck breast. Of those, the vegetarian risotto looked the best, so if I went back I would get that.

For the last meal I got the sticky date pudding. I am a sucker for sticky date pudding, which in my opinion you can’t really get wrong. And they didn’t, it was delicious. Luckily it was a fairly small portion as it was unbelievably sweet. It was yummy though.

It was a good value lunch at the Little Snail, but not fantastic dining. If you’re close to Darling Harbour and wanted a relatively cheap lunch then it’s a good option, but otherwise I wouldn’t be in much of a rush to get there.

I give it 6/10.

Published by

A Turtle Stranger

A girl living in Sydney, Australia who is looking to share her adventures through life, whether that be food, books, or just general life experiences.

Leave a comment